25 replies to this topic

#1 J NOSK36

J NOSK36

The poniest of all ponies... PONY PONY PONY PONY

• Acolyte
  • Others: GWRS 2.0 Supporter
  • 5,482 posts

Posted 18 July 2014 - 04:28 AM

hey guys, not sure if Im allowed to post this here, probably should be in a blog , and if so feel free to move it or have me move it to the right place. Just wanted to share this article I wrote on LinkedIn for those of you who dont have it, and if you do, feel free to comment on it in LinkedIn.

Its hard for me to believe that I have been playing the violin now for 13 years, its something that I never thought I would stick with when I started, it required more discipline than most people think, there were so many times where I wanted to quit and say I was done with it, but I stuck with it because at the end of the day; music is what I love , and its what I am passionate about.

the question of doing what you love vs doing what makes you the most money has been a topic that comes up quite often with my friends and I during our various discussions and I imagine it happens with many other people as well. I to this day find it so stunning that a child is asked at 16 years old "what do you want to do for the rest of your life" when in reality his or her life hasn't even really begun.

When I was 13 years old I told my mother that I wanted to play the violin for the rest of my life as my career and she looked at me and said "do something that is going to pay the bills" that was her way of saying "absolutely not". If my mother said no then I took that in my head as "Maybe I shouldn't do that then, my family is made up of people in the medical field, maybe I should do that!" I thought "I'm gonna make a lot of money and be successful".

I should never have doubted my passion or talent for the violin, instead I let what my mother said to me stick with me and when the time came for me to go to college I chose Pre-medicine; I had no idea what i was getting myself into.